It’s time for Fab to go…for him and us

With all the crazy rumors these days, lets make it simple: selling Fab makes sense. There, I said it. I wish it wasn’t true, but it has to be said.  Don’t get me wrong, I like Fab. He’s a great player. I don’t want him to leave. And, I don’t live in a dream world and would love if Fab wanted to stay, but let’s face facts. He doesn’t want to stay and selling Fab is good for the Club.

You know what, I just can’t take it anymore. I don’t care what Fab may or may not have said. Nothing will change until he says I will never go unless it is to retire. But he won’t, because his heart is in barca. The funny part is once he gets there, I’ll bet he’ll realize that his heart may be in barca but his DNA will be Arsenal. The grass is always greener on the other side, for both us and Fab.

Before, I wrote about Fab and the practical reasons Arsenal can adjust to losing him. But not today, today we talk about why Fab should leave. In two words: it’s time.

I appreciate that Fab might not leave this summer. And, I appreciate as one friend of mine pointed out that the grass is always greener on the otherside. Also, I understand that there are untold side effects of Fab leaving. Here’s the thing, I’m okay with all of that.

Why?

Because I think Fab wants to leave, sooner rather than later. So I want to cash him in now. Unlike our smurf looking mercenaries in the west of London, we don’t have a Russian billionaire owner -yet anyway. Nor do we have a soverign fund from the middle east backing us, as in the north country. So we need to put Club before player. Especially if the player is uncertain about where he is.

Selling Fab gives Monsieur the ability to rebuild and restructure. If manu can survive the loss of Ronaldo, we can survive the loss of Fab. In fact the team will be stronger, yes stronger.

How?

Because we don’t have a Xavi and Iniesta and Messi and who knows what else. We have our players. Players that frankly are dying under our current system. Forget the way we play, win and everyone wants to be on your team.

Imagine a lineup without Fab. A little scarey yes, but it allows for a new identity based in a confident structure. Right now, we have an identity based on a constantly shifting ground. How can we have a team based on Fab if we never know where he’ll be the next season. This isn’t an issue at manu, Rooney is the man and everyone knows it. But the rumors at Arsenal are way too destabilizing.

Selling Fab means rebuilding next year. Do I want to rebuiled next year? Of course not. But a glance at the team means that losing Fab isn’t the end of the world. If we can pick up four or five solid players, we can still go from third to first.

We need balance and this team just don’t doesn’t have it. Our 433 is a fun passing game. This makes sense because it leverages Fab’s talents. But moving the focus off Fab allows us to get back to our roots. We need a stronger spine, a more powerful strike force.

So now here we are. Fab might stay or he might leave, but for the team and Fab to grow, Fab needs to leave. There I said it.

-the student

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

